CABRI has a diverse membership base, consisting of 13 countries that have formally acceded to the international agreement. CABRI currently works with around 40 African countries. 

CABRI was established as an international organisation following the ratification of the international agreement by six founding member countries – Ghana, Kenya, Mali, Rwanda, Senegal and South Africa. 

In April 2010 Mauritius became a member, followed by the Central African Republic in April 2011. In November 2011 the Kingdom of Lesotho joined CABRI, with Liberia and Burkina Faso becoming members in August 2013. The Gambia followed in December 2014, Côte d'Ivoire in April 2015 and Republic of Guinea in May 2017.

All African countries are invited to become a member state of CABRI through accession to the international agreement according to their own domestic procedures.